Lisa Vanderpump and Cast scaled
Lisa Vanderpump and Cast scaled

NBC And Animal Planet Win Big At 6th Annual Reality Television Awards

LOS ANGELES — With almost two million votes from 125 different countries, winners were announced on June 9 for the 6th Annual Reality Television Awards. Twenty-six categories were awarded wins, including six new “Fan Favorites” categories added this year.

Notable winners were Ellen DeGeneres accepting for Best Game Show (NBC’s Game of Games), Steve Harvey for Best Host (ABC’s Celebrity Family Feud), Ne-Yo & Derek Hough, Best Judging Panel (NBC’s World of Dance), Howie Mandel representing Best Competition Show (NBC’s America’s Got Talent), Lisa Vanderpump with the entire cast, including Andy Cohenwon Best Returning Cast (Bravo’s Vanderpump Rules), Kevin O’Leary took Best Villain (ABC’s Shark Tank), DJ Pauly D & Vinny Guadagnino accepted Docu-Series (MTV’s Jersey Shore: Family Vacation), Drew & Jonathan Scott won for Lifestyle Show (HGTV’s Property Brothers), and the biggest award of the night, Overall Show was accepted by a very shocked Tia Torres (Animal Planet’s Pit Bulls & Parolees).

Other winners include Netflix’s Queer Eye for Best New Cast, NBC’s American Ninja Warrior franchise won Feel Good Show and Best Editing (for USA’s Team Ninja Warrior), the 1st season of Universal Kids’ Top Chef Junior took home Best New Show while Bravo’s Top Chef: Last Chance Kitchen won for Digital Reality Series. CBS’s The Amazing Race won for Bad Ass Crew, and both Animal Planet’s My Cat From Hell and The Zoo won Guilty Pleasure and Unique Concept, respectively.

The “Fan Favorites” were: Tyler Crispen (CBS’s Big Brother), Kandi Burruss (Bravo’s The Real Housewives of Atlanta), Drew Drechsel (NBC’s American Ninja Warrior), Trinity The Tuck (VH1’s RuPaul’s Drag Race), Stassi Schroeder (Bravo’s Vanderpump Rules) and Colton Underwood (ABC’s The Bachelor).

NBC led the pack with four wins, Animal Planet had three, followed by Bravo with two wins. For production companies, Magical Elves won the most with four, but Fly On The Wall Entertainment received the statuette for Best Production Company.

Executive producers Kristen Moss and Andrew Ward started the Reality Awards in 2012 to support, examine and redefine the art of reality in media by rewarding excellence, encouraging experimentation and recognizing that the public is the heart of our industry.

“The awards was an idea that I had when I first got started in Reality TV Casting,” Moss said. “I realized that there was no recognition given to the hardworking people behind the scenes, or on screen for that matter, so my mighty team of three set out to change that. I also think it’s important to point out that Reality TV is a vast genre. Many people consider Reality TV as the docu-series, but we are here to validate Reality TV as a whole.”

Moss said Reality TV encompasses any program where people are being themselves, not hired actors playing a role and that she loves real people and the beauty and life of the “everyday extraordinary person.”

Check for errors 160x600 1

©Innovation Women LLC 2022

Innovation Women ® is a registered trademark of Innovation Women LLC